Appropriately Thankful…mentor to mentee

Personal November 2016

How to be properly thankful in your life… Changing the lyrics of how we approach being “thankful” to ourselves and our mentors.

While I am not a christian, I grew up listening to christian music and I still love some of the songs to this day.

On the way to work this morning I was listening to Petra “I have a Thankful Heart” and it always opens up my heart to connect with the world in Love every time. I have to change the lyrics though, for obvious reasons, but I do that with a lot of songs, I cater the words to what my life is now instead of what the song can limit me to otherwise.

I have a thankful heart that comes from Love. I have a mentor that guides me in a way that shows respect in his understanding that I alone navigate my spiritual growth, and I have myself to thank for that.

I should first and foremost be thankful to my higher self, who is ultimately god in my life. My higher self is the seat of my soul and is what gives me life, has called me to growth, given me a purpose, and shows me how to manifest and fulfill it. My higher self is seeking to connect with me to teach me spiritual enlightenment as I seek to enlighten. We are ultimately on a journey to save ourselves, sometimes it takes a while to fully trust in that, so we have mentors that come into our lives and serve as a sounding board and to encourage us to trust in ourselves and our ability to come into our own power.

Our mentors have gone through [are going through] this process and do not seek to replace your higher self and save you on the road to fulfilling your purpose and enlightenment. Mentors are truly thankful to aid in helping people realize their potential as powerful creators and intelligent beings, but those that we guide are doing all of the work, we just point the way because we’ve been there and know how it works, or can figure out how it works by working together with each other.

A healthy mentor will not thrive, or feed, off of the very real gratitude of who they are helping. Healthy mentors will guide the person to, dare I say, “worship” and be thankful to themselves. If you want to thank your mentor, take time to intuitively feel who they truly are as a person and thank them for their individual strength or courage or brilliance for allowing you to grow on your own merits. Take your time doing this and personalize it if you can.

If someone has offered to be your mentor and they need your praise, or the attention is always on them – the role has been reversed – and it’s likely that this is not someone who has your highest, or best, interest in mind. Some people don’t realize they are doing this, but they are helping others because they need that person to be thankful in order to fill a void or need in their own lives, and it has nothing to do with helping you. This is just a simple misappropriation of self-love, but it’s not someone you want mentoring you because this journey is ultimately one of self-love and discovery, and someone who doesn’t know what that means can’t guide you somewhere they haven’t been.

Encountering this is a good thing because it is a simple lesson to go through by way of discerning healthy and unhealthy relationships, and while you are healing and learning to enlighten, it’s good to avoid unhealthy relationships that can take from you instead of guide and encourage you in your own strength and, dare I say, worship of yourself. It’s okay to do that, ya know. It’s not narcissistic to appropriately direct worship and thanksgiving to your higher self, the life force of Love and god [the collective], who is essentially you anyway. It’s not taboo, and the faster we realize this, the faster we can break down the walls and skyrocket in our spirituality so we can help others.

Love and worship your [higher]self and be truly thankful to the individual that is your mentor by honoring and respecting them with words that identify their individual strengths as a person.

An example of this is, instead of saying “thank you” all the time [it’s natural that we are so overly filled with genuine thanks because this person is in our lives – am I right? haha – I do the same thing], instead, I told my mentor that he was brilliant because he allowed me to come to my own conclusions about something. That was a gift he personally gave me and I was able to personalize my gratitude through a revelation I had about it.

I think that when we learn how to be appropriately thankful, we free our attention from people worship, to self worship and truly coming into our power, not the power of others.

Leave a Reply

